Joint Area Committee - North - 22nd July 2009

11. Area North Working Groups and Outside Bodies – Appointment of Members 2009/10 (Executive Decision)

Head of Service Ian Clarke, Head of Legal and Democratic Services

Lead Officers: Angela Cox, Democratic Services Manager

Contact Details: angela.cox@southsomerset.gov.uk 01935 462148

Purpose of the Report

As the Council has entered a new municipal year, the Committee is asked to review the appointment of its members to working groups established by this Committee, and to those outside bodies to which this Committee makes appointments.

Recommendations

The Committee is asked to:

- (1) agree whether to re-establish the internal working group as listed in the report.
- (2) appoint members to serve on the working group for the municipal year 2009/10.
- (3) review and appoint members to outside bodies as set out in the report.

Area North Working Groups

The following table shows the internal working group, and its members, appointed by this Committee for the municipal year 2009/10. The Committee is asked to decide whether to re-establish the group for the new municipal year and agree the membership of the group.

Organisation	Representatives 2008/09	Lead Officer	Frequency of meetings
Youth Facility and Play Area Steering Group	Ann Campbell Rupert Cox Jo Roundell Greene	Charlotte Jones	Twice a year

Outside Bodies

Set out below are those organisations and groups to which representatives are required to be appointed by this Committee. Details of each of the bodies' purpose, frequency of meetings etc. is attached to this report.

Organisation / Group	2008/9 Representatives	Representation 2009/10 (to be decided at Committee)
Abattoir Liaison Group	Roy Mills Derek Yeomans	
(Area North) Community Safety Area Action Panel	Sue Steele	
Somerset Levels and Moors Local Action Group Executive Committee (previously known as Leader+)	Paull Robathan	
Martock M3 Community Partnership	Ann Campbell	
Somerset Waterways Advisory Committee	Patrick Palmer	
South Somerset Disability Forum (1 Member appointed from each area)	Ann Campbell	
Langport and Somerton Links Service Steering Group	Derek Yeomans	
Strode College Community Education Committee	Tony Canvin	
River Parrett Trail Management Group	Patrick Palmer	
Ridgway Hall Management Committee	New for 2009	One new representative required
South Somerset Homes Area North Partnership (now Yarlington Housing Group)	Roy Mills Keith Ronaldson	Meetings will cease after Sept 2009, see attached for details

Financial Implications

None

Implications to Corporate Priorities

None

Background Papers: Minute 14, Area North Committee, 28 May 2008

Minute 41, Full Council, 18 September 2008

Minute 9, Full Council, 21 May 2009